MG Rover Owners Club (MGROC)

We cover all MG & Rover cars, We are the MG Owners Club & Rover Owners club, combined in one, from Rover 75 to MGZT, from Rover 800 to MGB, we are here for all your MG Rover MGR cars
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:34 pm

Welcome Anonymous !

We cover all MG & Rover cars, We are the MG Owners Club & Rover Owners club, combined in one, from Rover 75 to MGZT, from Rover 800 to MGB, we are here for all your MG Rover MGR cars

How To's

How to view a potential new car

Unread postby baconbuttyman » Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:55 am

A little advice when looking at a car for purchase. I am NOT a mechanic just a car enthusiasts, i have NEVER bought a bad car yet, IF you have 0% of common sense, then take some one with you! and a good torch, not your phone light

Buying a used car can be daunting if you are a little green, first of all, is the car being sold by a trader, that is defined in ONE way only, doe the seller regularly sell cars for profit, if so, then the seller IS a trader and no matter what he says, you have rights, The car has to be fit for purpose and as described. The onus is on YOU to prove any issues are inherent with the car tho. If the trader is of any worth, he will always address any issues that arise straight away.
On initial inquiry of the car, when discussing a viewing, ask the seller NOT to warm the car up before you get there.
ok lets get on to viewing the car, Don't let your heart rule your head, look over the car cosmetically, any rust spots, these can be expensive to repair if wanted, look at the tyres, are they legal, what condition are the side walls in, any chunks missing, and bulges in the rubber, these can be expensive to replace.
are there any dents in the car, is the bumper dented, if so, has it been in an accident??
Look under the car for any obvious signs of rot